‘The Chronological History of the New London-Waterford Speedbowl’ is a documentary series produced by Vault Productions – written & directed by Tom “Sid” DiMaggio.  Our series covers the track’s entire history from the facility’s initial construction which began in the summer of 1950 up until present day.

Written & directed by Tom ‘Sid’ DiMaggio, a Waterford, CT native who has been the Speedbowl’s historian since 2005, our series is based on his research of the track, which can be found online at speedbowlhistory.com.   The 6-part series is divided up primarily by the ownership & operational control of the track.


Ownership tenure of the original Board of Directors ownership group New London-Waterford Speedbowl Inc. from 1951-1974.



Starting in 2010, there have been over 55 people from all eras of the Speedbowl’s history have now been interviewed to help tell the Speedbowl’s story.  We’ve also uncovered footage from every decade and photos from every season at the track from 1951 to today.

The first 2 parts of the series were released in late 2015 and available for rent or purchase via our youtube channel.  Parts 3 thru 6 will be released soon.  Check back for updates.